Working Girl at WSP

image

Between the cobblestone and broken concrete, New York City streets don’t make it easy for girls. Traversing the city in subways and dodging 9-5ers, blue-collar worker, and ditzy tourists in the streets is an everyday challenge. But the working girl is resilient! We don’t give up fashion for anything. We strut in our heels, put on our make-up and take on the city and all its challenges. Nevertheless, our aspiring fashionistas must also consider comfort in the whole “picking out our outfit in the morning” equation.

So as my first day outfit as a fashion intern, I finally chose a white, flowy Portofino Shirt, a pair of dark wash jeans, and gold cap-toe flats.

What I love about the adidas Fashion Group is that everyone is very laid back. Business casual is an overstatement of the environment at the office—which definitely makes my life a little harder when choosing outfits. I’ve always followed the motto ““Always dress like youre going to see your worst enemy” and so now I have to choose my outfits according to the environment as well.

image

What I decided to do was to wear a very formal, business-like top, but then tone it down with dark rinse jeans. The dark jeans are casual, but not as casual as a light wash jean—and on the plus side, they’re super comfy! Not to mention, the dark rinse also gives a slimming effect on the legs.

Now when it comes to shoes, I also run and grab the first pair of heels I see. I think that heels add instant class to any outfit. However, having to stand for hours on end and running around getting samples, there really isn’t a place for heels. My next go-to are these black flats with a gold cap-toe.

image

I can always count on flats to get me through a tough day. Also, the gold cap-toe on these are a beautiful and fun detail than just wearing a regular pair of black flats. This is definitely a piece that I would recommend for every working girl’s wardrobe!

And at the end of a long day’s work, nothing beats passing Washington Square Park on the way home—watching the light sprinkling of the fountain and majestic presence of the Arc. Just remember, work hard and play hard, but never forget to enjoy the beauty that’s right in front of you. 

image

Perhaps you’ll find inspiration closer than you thought before. I know I have.

Until next time,

-A

Portofino Shirt: Express

Jeans: Abercrombie & Fitch

Shoes: M.I.A. (Similar here and here)

Accessories: (Also Styled in This Look)

Bag: Louis Vuitton Neverfull MM

Watch: Fossil (Similar here)

Jewelry: J.Crew Chain Link Bracelet (Similar here)

Leave a Reply

