Deals & Steals: The J. Crew Herringbone Vest

DSCN2921

J. Crew Factory Herringbone Excursion Vest ($108)

Happy Friday loves!

With the weekend fast approaching, I thought it’d be fun to do a little “Deals & Steals” post today!

DSCN2931

Now, I have personally been searching anywhere I could possibly think of to get my hands on this gorgeous vest ever since last winter! I happened to just stumble upon it one day, out of sheer dumb luck, as I was browsing through the new arrivals of J. Crew Factory! Thankfully, I was able to get my hands on an XXS before everything was backordered!

Unfortunately, every single size for this vest is backordered until November 10th at the moment. However, I would still purchase the item now on backorder and receive the vest in November. I remember searching Ebay, Amazon, etc…to try and purchase one of these vests last winter–but the price point for these second party sellers was RIDICULOUS (starting at $300!) So, the only way to get your hands on this highly coveted vest at this point is to buy the backordered vest right now, and wait for it to come in November.

DSCN2929

DSCN2927

DSCN2922

Review: A disclaimer on the actual product though–this vest is herringbone PRINTED, which means that it is not actually made out of herringbone (wool-like) material. Instead, the actual material is down-filled poly (a quilted, waterproof material). This came as quite a surprise to me because I thought that the vest would be actual herringbone (obviously did not read the “product details” online…oops).

However, I think that the down-filled poly material is more suitable since the vest is probably meant to be worn in the autumn, or to be layered in the winter. If the vest were made of actual herringbone, I think it would have made it too hot to be layered under an overcoat come winter.

The overall design is very formfitting and flattering. I usually avoid buying down vests because I feel like it easily overwhelms my petite frame. But, I love how this particular vest’s design doesn’t make it too puffy to wear. Not to mention, the quilted pattern is not something you’d see often and  the black lining for the pockets gives the design a clean-cut and classic feel.

One more catch while purchasing this vest: J. Crew Factory has made it so that this vest is not included in ANY promotional codes or deals that may be going on. I guess they realized that the vest is such a coveted and sought after item that they excluded it from all sales. Nevertheless, priced at $108, this excursion vest is still affordable and definitely worth the investment for the upcoming fall and winter! I can’t wait until the weather turns warmer to show you guys how I’d style this great staple piece!

Happy hunting fashionistas,

Screen Shot 2015-01-06 at 10.53.35 PM

2 comments

Leave a Reply

