Down by Big Ben

Down by Big Ben 1The last few days I spent in London were definitely packed full of sight seeing–Big Ben, Parliament, Tower Bridge, oh and you can’t forget about Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park and all the other wonderful holiday markets that were going on that time of year. I was definitely trying to make up for all the time I felt I’d lost that month stuck in the library writing papers and studying for finals so I wanted to make sure I didn’t leave London with any regrets!

Down By Big Ben 2

DownBy Big Ben 3

On this particular day, I ended up taking a little self-guided tour through Parliament. I wanted to get a bit more dressed up, seeing that I was going to go see the law-making centre of the United Kingdom. Here, I’ve styled together a jeweled collar herringbone sweater with a velvet circle skirt. Now, I don’t usually style a look in just one color from head-to-toe, but in this case, I thought the two burgundy pieces really worked well together.

Down by Big Ben 4

Down by Big Ben 6The herringbone of the sweater and velvet material in the skirt make a nice detailed contrast against one another. I love how the peter pan collar of the sweater is jeweled, dressing up the sweater and whole look as well. To be more discreet, I emulated the jeweled collar in my choice of jewelry–a simple yet also statement stud earrings.

Down By Big Ben 5

Down By Big Ben 7As for shoes and accessories, keeping the bag and heels neutral really puts the focus on the key burgundy pieces of the look. Hope you’ve enjoyed this little outfit I put together for my visit to Parliament! Happy styling, fashionistas!

Screen Shot 2015-01-06 at 10.53.35 PM

Double Breasted Military Coat (Similar) | Burgundy Herringbone Jeweled Collar Sweater (Get it Here) | Burgundy Velvet Circle SkirtKate Spade Scallop Handbag | Prada Point Toe Nude Stilettos

 Photography by: Angela Chen

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

