Beantown

Happy Wednesday, loves! Can’t believe it’s mid-week already! Only half a week of winter break left for me ūüė¶ But hey, that’s okay–I’ve definitely spent my time wisely. For the long weekend, I finally got the chance to visit the historic town of Boston!

Day 1: Cambridge Area

DSC_0010I ended up staying at the Hyatt in Cambridge, right next to the Charles River–absolutely breathtaking views of the city skyline.

DSC_0016Walking around town, I couldn’t help but visit some of the university campuses. I never did college visits as a senior in high school, so I guess I’m about 3 years too late, haha. It was interesting to visit MIT and Harvard…but I still don’t think I would trade my experience at NYU for anything in the world.

DSC_0024Wound up at Legal Seafood for dinner the first night! Apparently, it’s a must-have if any of you are ever in the Boston area. I ended up with the seafood casserole (mm baked cheesy goodness) and my boyfriend opted for their shrimp pasta dish. Have never felt so stuffed and content after a meal…

10942870_10155150956645541_1726177103_nBut of course…always room for dessert! I’m really upset to learn that Finale Desserts is a local restaurant in Boston. It is the most adorable little dessert restaurant, perfect for cute dates! So many different cakes to try…so little time!

10937302_10155150955235541_1164640196_n

Day 2: Downtown Boston

It ended up being a bit gloomy/rainy on our second day in Boston, but thank GOD it was warmer! I actually think I prefer the gloomy weather if it means I don’t turn into a human ice popsicle when I step outside >.<DSC_0037We crossed the Charles River and ended up exploring a bit of BU. It was interesting walking around BU because I think it’s set up in a very similar way to NYU–right in the heart of the city, with buildings integrated right into Boston. There isn’t a true campus either, but that’s never really bothered me at NYU–the city becomes your campus instead.

DSC_0104

Beantown 1Exploring BU in the gloomy weather means bundling up and wearing comfy shoes! I opted for my favorite wool coat, bundled up in my warmest cashmere scarf and grabbed my go-to black distressed skinny jeans.¬†As for shoes, I went with a pair of tasseled tartan print loafers–comfy and fun!

Beantown 2

Beantown 3

Beantown 4

Beantown 5

Beantown 6We ended up taking a stroll down Commonwealth Ave and checking out all the BU buildings before heading to downtown Boston for lunch!

10934163_10155150951860541_1993437806_nI couldn’t believe how many markets there were in Boston! The Faneuil Hall Marketplace ended up having so many different food vendors and cute little souvenir shops. After walking through the Quincy Market building, we settled on lunch from Boston Chowda, ordering their¬†New England Clam Chowder “Voted Boston’s Best,” a Maine Lobster Roll and the Lobster Mac n’ Cheese…which probably wasn’t the best idea because although everything was absolutely delicious, we got a serious onset of food coma afterwards >.<

10904209_10155150952150541_796105392_nIt was pretty slow-moving after that hearty lunch…and we ended up at the Boston harbor for a little bit. It was nice just sitting and taking a moment to soak up the view. I can just imagine what the harbor is like during the summer…and I definitely have my heart set on visiting again once the weather is warmer!

10943608_10155150947045541_326897558_nAfter wandering through the city a bit more, we stumbled upon these huge glass columns with steam rising up from underneath. At first, I thought it was a kind of art installation…but in reality, it was the New England Holocaust Memorial. An eery reminder, especially in the foggy weather. Going¬†through the walkway reveals quotes from survivors of the horrors experienced in the different camps…and as you stood to read the quotes the steam would rise up from underneath, almost as if simulating the gas chambers. I’m glad we happened to pass by the memorial–it was definitely an experience, albeit a bit somber¬†for this weekend trip.

10933201_10155150946830541_848567761_nAnd on a happier note–we ended our trip with a delicious selection of oysters from Island Creek Oyster Bar! Now, I am someone who seeks out happy hour oysters and can devour a dozen or two in one sitting…but in this case, it was great to try a selection of the different kinds of oysters in Boston and other areas of New England. Plus, we had to save some room for the entrees ūüėČ

10884895_10155150945375541_839622855_nSo I guess you could say this Boston trip was a mix of exploring and eating lots and lots of seafood. I think I’ve satisfied my seafood craving for a few good months now ūüôā

Hope you enjoyed my little weekend getaway! What did you guys do over the long weekend? Let me know in the comment box below! With love,

Screen Shot 2015-01-06 at 10.53.35 PM{Coat: Burberry; Similar here and here} {Sweater: J. Crew, On Sale!} {Jeans: J. Crew, On Sale!}

{Bag: Kate Spade} {Scarf: Burberry} {Shoes: J. Crew; Similar here and here}

Leave a Reply

