Birthday Festivities

Heartfelt 21st birthday confession in this post–read on if you’re ready to handle some deep personal reflections! ❤ DSC_0165

DSC_0181Another year past and I’ll admit that this time, it definitely feels different than last year. I’m not usually a big birthday person–sometimes I almost forget! But this year, the big twenty-one…another milestone come to pass, it’s definitely got me thinking of how much I’ve changed since starting my life in the city. I don’t feel like the same person I was before, but in a good way. In these three years, I’ve learned so much and realized so many things…and I have to say, I wouldn’t trade my experiences for anything in the world, cause they have led me to the person that I am today.

Birthday Festivities 3Starting my freshman year back in 2012, I felt like I had a lot of unresolved issues carrying over from high school. I can’t say high school was the best time for me and there were definitely times I hurt deeply, but I wanted a fresh start–and what better way to start than in the most inspiring city in the world. I brought with me my hopes, dreams, fears, insecurities…and my love for fashion.

Birthday Festivities 5

I swallowed my insecurities and drew strength from my fears. After all, this was New York City. If you can make it here, you can make it anywhere. I can’t say I always knew what I wanted to do in life, but it was after my first internship as a showroom sales intern at adidas that I knew I wanted to go into the fashion industry. That day was the first day I knew which path I wanted to follow.

Birthday Festivities 3

Birthday Festivities 6Half a year later, I started this blog. This blog was meant to be a personal creative outlet, a way for me to feel connected to fashion on a personal level, especially since my school studies were not really fashion related. It was my escape, my safe haven–the place I could communicate to the world and hopefully inspire others to be brave in their endeavors and to believe deeply in their own ability to achieve their dreams.

Birthday Festivities 7

Birthday Festivities 9And after a year and a half of fashion blogging, there have been unforgettable times and new friendships made, but also difficult challenges and trials overcome. At times, I feel discouraged and wonder what the purpose is of blogging. At times I feel irrelevant in this massive industry, that my voice is just one very very tiny little voice. But I’m always reminded through the support of friends, and sometimes strangers, that this blog isn’t just meant for me. It is meant for you as well.

Birthday Festivities 10

Birthday Festivities 11So I want to thank all of you, those who have stuck with me from the beginning, and those who just joined me recently, for supporting me in my blogging endeavors. I hope that I can inspire you in your every day lives and be an example that all you need is hard work, vision, and just a bit of luck, to be able to achieve all that you can imagine for yourself!

Birthday Festivities 2

Birthday Festivities 1It feels like just yesterday, I was only this hopeful little city girl, aspiring to make it in New York. And now here I am, 3 years later, living in the greatest city on earth, surrounded by the support of friends and family with my continued love and passion for fashion blogging.

Birthday Festivities 12I’m not sure what the next few years have in store–but I hope they will be blessed with as many good times and unforgettable memories. I can’t wait to share this next chapter with all of you guys.

Cheers to the infinite possibilities of the future,

Screen Shot 2015-01-06 at 10.53.35 PM{Top: Express; Similar here and here} {Skirt: LuLu’s; Similar here} {Clutch: Loft; Similar here}

{Shoes: Jimmy Choo} {Earrings: Banana Republic; Similar here}

Photography by: Angela Chen

Areta's Style Secrets

Leave a Reply

